Provinces of Kepulauan Riau

History of Riau Islands

Kepulauan Riau Province is the 32nd province in Indonesia. Kepulauan Riau Province established under Law No. 25 of 2002, before the province is part of the Riau province.

Regency / City 

Overall Kepulauan Riau region consists of 4 districts and 2 cities, 42 as well as the District 256 District / Village with a number of 2,408 large and small islands of which 40% has not been named and inhabited. District / City include Bintan, Karimun, Natuna and Lingga district and the city of Batam and Tanjungpinang city as the center of government. Provinces bordering Malaysia has an area of ​​251,000 km2 (97,000 sq mi) of which 95% - its an ocean and only 5% is land area.


Riau Province is bordered by:
North : Vietnam and Cambodia
South : The province of Bangka Belitung Islands and Jambi
West  : Singapore, Malaysia, and Riau Province
East   : Malaysia, Brunei, and the province of West Kalimantan

Geographic Location

Powered natural resources potential, Kepulauan Riau province, it is possible to be one of the centers of economic growth for the future of the Republic of Indonesia. Especially at this time in some areas in Kepulauan Riau (Batam, Bintan, and Karimun) are being introduced as a pilot project for the development of Special Economic Zones (SEZ) in collaboration with the Government of Singapore.


Nongsa Beach Batam


Kepulauan Riau Province is the gateway of foreign second after Bali. The number of foreign tourists who come to visit to reach 1.5 million people in 2005 attractions in Kepulauan Riau province include the beach resort located in various counties and cities. Melur Beach, Island Beach Abang and Nongsa in Batam city, beach-fighting in Karimun, Lagoi Coast, Cape Coast rafting, Trikora Beach and Leisure Park in the district Bintan Bintan. Natuna Regency famous tourist baharinya like snorkeling.

In addition to coastal tourism and marine,
Kepulauan Riau province also has other attractions such as cultural heritage, historic tombs, traditional dances and events typical of the region. In the city there Tanjungpinang Biting island as a historic island in the island because there are mosques and historic tombs and Raja Raja Haji Ali Haji Fisabilillah which is both a national hero.

Kepulauan Riau

The Legal Basis
1º 10' LS - 5º 10' LU
102º 50' - 109º 20' BT
 • Governor
 • Total
251.000 km2 (97,000 mil²)

2.408 pulau
Population (2010)
 • Total
 • Density
6.7/km2 (17/sq mi)
 • Ethnic
Malay (35.6%), Javanese (22.2%), Chinese (9.3%), Minangkabau (9.3%), Batak (8.1%), Bugis (2.2%), Banjar (0.7%)
 • Religion
 • Language
Time Zone


0 Response to "Provinces of Kepulauan Riau"

Posting Komentar

Bacaan Terpopuler